Pierre Marly Opticien

Pierre Marly arrives in the world of optics around the years 45-50 at a time when the glasses were still an unloved accessory close to the prosthesis: some forms (round, oval), two materials (acetate and doubled-gold), a color (shell). Pierre Marly will change all that and give a new dimension, create new forms completely original, introduced the color in his models.

He will be the first to introduce eyewear fashion in 1951.

Opening of the first store rue François 1er, within the Golden Triangle.

The success is not long in waiting and confirms its status as the first designer in eyewear.
In 1952 he creates for Audrey Hepburn a model that is all the rage. It was very large and equipped with curved glasses. Then it was for Sophia Loren a model in the form of a television screen in very bright colors.

These eccentricities will attract the stars, the journalists and he becomes from 1960 the avant-garde optician. His clientele is composed of movie stars, show business, big names in politics and international diplomacy, for whom he creates successive models that will remain famous.

Since 1970, despite the mass arrival of branded glasses (Dior, Saint-Laurent, Courrèges …), Pierre Marly remains faithful to his image of avant-garde optician anxious to create a limited number of models and distribute them in small series. Each year, it will be a strong, inventive, sometimes provocative collection with unusual shapes and bold colors, a refined, sophisticated and upscale collection based on natural materials such as wood, buffalo horn, tortoiseshell and leather. To do this, Pierre MARLY ensures the collaboration of Gérard GUILBERT for the technical part.
It completes its collections with exclusivities unearthed abroad and which it reserves the distribution in France.

The philosophy of Pierre Marly: ensure visual comfort, advise the fashion accessory, the clothing element that will make forget the visual defect, determine the criteria that will contribute to the choice of the frame.

If a clientele of first choice knows Pierre Marly, it is for sure because of the incomparable quality of the service which is proposed to him by a competent staff in a decor marked with luxury and seriousness.

Pierre Marly Opticien

Pierre Marly arrive dans le monde de l’optique vers les années 45-50 à une époque où les lunettes étaient encore un accessoire mal-aimé proche de la prothèse : quelques formes (ronde, ovale), deux matières (l’acétate et le doublé-or), une couleur (écaille). Pierre Marly va changer tout cela et donne une nouvelle dimension, crée de nouvelles formes complètement originales, introduit la couleur dans ses modèles.

Il sera le premier à introduire la mode en lunetterie en 1951.

Ouverture du premier magasin rue François 1er, au sein même du Triangle d’Or.

Le succès ne se fait pas attendre et confirme son statut de premier créateur en lunetterie.
En 1952 il crée pour Audrey Hepburn un modèle qui fait fureur. Il était de très grande dimension et équipé de verres bombés. Puis ce fut pour Sophia Loren un modèle en forme d’écran de télévision dans des couleurs très vives.

Ces excentricités vont attirer les vedettes, les journalistes et il devient dès 1960 l’opticien d’avant-garde. Sa clientèle est donc composée de stars du cinéma, du show-business, des grands noms de la politique et de la diplomatie internationale, pour qui il crée des modèles successifs qui resteront célèbres.

Depuis 1970, malgré l’arrivée en masse des lunettes griffées (Dior, Saint-Laurent, Courrèges…), Pierre Marly reste fidèle à son image d’opticien avant-gardiste soucieux de créer un nombre limité de modèles et de les diffuser en petites séries. Ce sera chaque année une collection forte, inventive, parfois provocante aux formes insolites aux coloris audacieux, une collection raffinée, sophistiquée, haut de gamme à base de matériaux naturels comme le bois, la corne de buffle, l’écaille, le cuir… Pour ce faire, Pierre MARLY s’assure de la collaboration de Gérard GUILBERT pour la partie technique.
Il complète ses collections avec des exclusivités dénichées à l’étranger et dont il se réserve la distribution en France.

La philosophie de Pierre Marly : assurer le confort visuel, conseiller l’accessoire de mode, l’élément vestimentaire qui va faire oublier le défaut visuel, déterminer les critères qui contribueront aux choix de la monture.

Si une clientèle de premier choix connaît Pierre Marly, c’est à coup sûr en raison de la qualité incomparable du service qui lui est proposé par un personnel compétent dans un décor empreint de luxe et de sérieux.